Story Acceptance

by Joni Abilene

I found out yesterday that my story, “Change, Perception, and the Perception of Change,” will be published in Front Porch Review this July. I’m really happy about it. I wrote Change last summer but let it sit in a notebook for almost a year, for no particular reason really, I just didn’t have an ending and knew I’d come back to it sometime. Turns out the ending is what sold the piece. It’s a nice feeling, and if I had some wine I’d celebrate.

Now my mind turns to all the other stories I have out on the market. Not to be greedy, but I sure wouldn’t mind hearing more good news. In my wildest dreams a watershed of acceptance would appear in my inbox, but that’s just dreaming and I know it. Still, one big sale would make me a happy gal. Do you hear that Universe?

