Manuscripts and junipers

by Joni Abilene

Not much going on except waiting, but that’s kind of the life of a writer isn’t it? Write and wait. Write while you wait. As long as you have a few irons in the fire then all is fine. As long as you are working on something. As long as the ideas never run out. Keep writing, keep working, keep waiting. I am eagerly anticipating a response from a handful of places, but I know it could take up to three months. For me it always seems to take that long, or longer. I’m ashamed to admit that I do fret and worry over my submissions. I should be concentrating on the work at hand, I know, but still can’t help but wonder what’s going on with that one, and that one, and that one. A short story has been out for over two-hundred days now. I’m itching to send an inquiry, but then I don’t want to show how much I care, how suspicious I am about the whole process.If I do query, it will send a ripple of bad luck and then a huge rejection will hit my mailbox. Best to wait it out. Best to write another story.

Kansas is cold but sunny today. Many trees are almost completely bare from the high winds we had a week ago, so the evergreens are starting to pop out more. I love the smell of junipers in summer, but not fall. In the fall they have a cat-ish, weedy smell that is far from pleasant, though if you pick a berry and crush it between your fingers a lavender scent will come out. Have you ever had a campfire with juniper branches? The smell is wonderful and all those berries go POP.

