Gloomy Weather

by Joni Abilene

May 4, 2013, Saturday, And it’s another rainy day with no hope for sun. Oh, it’s up there but not for us to enjoy, only the tops of those greedy clouds get to enjoy it. And all of space is soaking in it’s radioactive waves, sizzling and burning, but not us. We are lost in a saran wrapped world of clouds; clouds that shift and pass but never break open. I can take a day or two of clouds, but these long stretches really do a person in. I’m likely to lose myself a little every day with this gray weather. In fact, I equate my brain to the stupid clouds, always gathering, drifting, never collecting to anything grand, just constant soupy nothingness blocking out all light. I don’t want to be like that, but I can’t help it, my brain must be fueled by the sun, gelled and fueled. Perhaps my eyes are solar power vessels, soaking up the radiation and storing it inside my retinas, then passing through for usage when needed, but only enough for one day or two, not four. Certainly not a week. A week of darkness is like death. Like being in a coffin. And the rain looks pretty on glass, but I am stuck and sick and longing for the sun.

