The fragility of ideas

by Joni Abilene

Took my kids to the park and was asked by another parent what I do for a living. I told them I write. I’ve written. I am a writer. Oh really? That’s interesting. What do you write? That’s the tricky part, isn’t it? What do you write? It’s not so easy to put into words, which writers should be great at, but most of us are not. I write about life (that sounds stupid and boring) . . . I write about people (what else is there to write about?) . . . aliens? (now, I’m lying). “I’m writing a novel about Siskel & Ebert, their lives, growing up, how they became famous, their girlfriends, their failures, their marriages, how much they hated each other in the beginning, how insanely brilliant they were, how they had become almost one person in the end, and then one died, and then the other fought like crazy for years to survive. It’s going to be just like Midnight Cowboy, only about movies, not hustling.”

I got the “she’s crazy” stare.

Found this video the other day and, I don’t know if it helps my point about writing the book or not, but in my mind it’s like a golden arrow pointing to a big YES. It starts out with Ebert being a little bitch, which he was at times because he was so freaking brilliant, and then it escalates into these two gentlemen bickering and insulting each other in a brotherly battle of wits. It’s annoying, and just when you think you’ve had enough, something wonderful happens. These two guys, these kindred spirits, go on a rant that’s so insanely awesome I can’t even put it into proper words (which is evident by my usage of the word ‘awesome’). They shout about religion, government, society. It’s . . . great. It brought forward the missing piece, that undercurrent of anger and rebellion and refusal to give in for any amount of money or influence.  Here’s the clip.

Maybe I am crazy, and maybe this is all hogwash. But I still think this book needs to happen and that I’m the person to write it. But then again . . .

