Still Moving

by Joni Abilene

This week isn’t much different from the last. I’m still in a slump, writing is slow, but I’m not going to give up. Sometimes life is heavier than inspiration and it takes more effort to create movement. I accept it, embrace it, and I will defeat it.

Last week the clouds came to a screeching halt over Kansas and idled for endless days. It’s not the rain I hate, it’s the darkness. Do you remember that line from the 60s Brit-film ‘A Taste of Honey’ when lovely Rita Tushingham says, “It’s not the darkness outside that scares me, it’s the darkness inside.” I guess that’s the gist of it: these rain and clouds are only adding to an already drenched soul. I can’t take it. But . . . I have to take it.

Still working on the Johnny Cool story. I really love that guy. Maybe there’s a part of me that wants to be a part of him? Probably. When I was a kid, the coolest people were the rock and rollers. Still are. I don’t trust straight people—like straight as in, clean cut and easy listening. They scare me. Johnny’s been to Woodstock, he’s a wife collector, a rebel, a free-thinker. He would have gone to Vietnam, but it just didn’t work out. He’s the kind of guy who was born wise. You know what I mean. Maybe I only wish I was him, but I never could be. You have to be born Johnny Cool. It ain’t an earned a thing.

Also, I’ve been thinking about turning The Moonflowers into a screenplay. It feels like that’s what I was meant to do all along . . . so I’ll do it.

Peace.

