Writing myself out of this hole

by Joni Abilene

World Nomad in conjunction with Lonely Planet is holding a writing contest with some great amenities, a cash prize along with a free trip and mentoring. Great! I need to get out of my house so . . . hey, I thought I’d give it a try. You can read my entry here: World Nomads Contest.

For the entry we were supposed to write an additional essay, and I thought a piece about where we’d like to go if given the chance, but it doesn’t look like they need that last thingy. The funny thing is I could have chosen some really far out destinations for my travel itinerary, but instead I chose Kansas (I live in Kansas!) and a nowhere town in Texas. It’s sad and funny at the same time. I do actually have my reasons though, and hopefully I’ll win this thing.

Wish me luck.

